The North Carolina State Forest Service has issued a statewide burn ban for the state of North Carolina as of 5 p.m. Monday, November 29. The burn ban continues until further notice and has been issued due to increased fire risk in North Carolina. The burn ban means all open burning is not allowed and is against the law.
It is the fall wildfire season for the state and weather conditions this week will lead to explosive fire growth if fires start. In an effort to mitigate the threat of fires, the burn ban prohibits all open burning. Anyone violating the burn ban faces a $100 fine plus $183 court costs. Any person responsible for setting a fire may be liable for any expenses related to extinguishing the fire.